Home / Service specifications / Current service specifications / Mental health and addictions

Mental health and addiction services specifications

Current service specifications for mental health and addiction services.

Mental health and addiction services

Tier 1
Document link Status Purchase units Date of publication
Mental Health and Addiction Services (docx, 102.29 KB) Mandatory 01 April 2017

The mental health and addiction services service specifications have been updated to include changes agreed in 2016 to provide more purchasing flexibility for funders. Administrative updates have been made to the tier 1 and 2 service specifications.

The old tier 3 service specifications were retired after 30 June 2018.

For national consistency, provider reporting to PRIMHD and the use of appropriate MH&A purchase unit codes is still required. The performance monitoring reporting tables are no longer needed as a national minimum for DHBs and ‘Service’ unit of measure PU codes have been added where there are 'FTE' PU codes. The tier one Workforce and governance reporting tables are now in the Performance Monitoring Reporting Tables for MH&A Services, are available at the bottom of the page.

Agreement Documentation

To minimise your agreement documentation, links to the named and dated versions of the MH&A service specifications on the NSFL website can be included in agreements, instead of copies of nationwide service specifications. To facilitate this, request a clause to insert into the agreement from the Purchasing Team, Sector Operations.  If Funders choose to select the reporting clusters in the Performance Monitoring Reporting Tables for MH&A Services this will need to be specified in the Provider Specific Terms and Conditions.

Tier 2 and revised tier 3