Home / Purchase units / Common Counting Standards 2013–14

Common Counting Standards 2013–14

Prepared by the Common Counting Technical Advisory Group in conjunction with the Ministry of Health

The Common Counting Standards outline how health activity should be defined, measured and counted to support the planning of health and disability services.

The Standards support funding and costing decisions, and they contribute towards a sound platform from which inter-district flow (IDF) pricing can be derived. They provide clear business rules for a consistent approach when using existing purchase units from the Purchase Unit Data Dictionary, and when developing new purchase units.

(The Common Counting Standards 2013/14 is the current version and includes updates made in Janaury 2017).

Publishing information

  • Date of publication
    01 January 2014
  • Ordering Information:
    Only soft copy available to download