Home / Accountability / Annual Reports and SPEs / Parliamentary paper shoulder numbers

Parliamentary paper shoulder numbers

District health boards (DHBs) and some multi-parent health Crown Entity subsidiaries are required to affix shoulder numbers to their Annual Reports and Statements of Intent/Statements of Performance Expectations, as these documents are designated 'Parliamentary Papers'.

Parliamentary Papers are published under the authority of the House of Representatives, and Annual Reports and Statements of Intent/Statements of Performance Expectations must conform to requirements for Parliamentary Papers set by the Office of the Clerk. Under current requirements, Parliamentary Papers must be produced in A4 size and include the appropriate shoulder number in the top right-hand corner of the cover and title page.

Shoulder numbers are issued by the Office of the Clerk (Bills Office). The title page should include the formal name of the Crown Entity and the financial year to which the Annual Report or Statement of Intent/Statement of Performance Expectations relates. It should also indicate that it is presented to the House of Representatives pursuant to section 150(3) of the Crown Entities Act 2004.

More information is available on the NZ Parliament website:

Shoulder Numbers for DHBs

DHB Shoulder number
Auckland E78
Bay of Plenty E79
Canterbury E80
Capital & Coast E81
Counties Manukau E82
Hawke's Bay E83
Hutt Valley E84
Lakes E85
MidCentral E86
Nelson Marlborough E87
Northland E88
South Canterbury E89
Southern E90
Tairawhiti E91
Taranaki E92
Waikato E93
Wairarapa E94
Waitemata E95
West Coast E96
Whanganui E97

Shoulder Numbers for multi-parent subsidiaries

Subsidiary Shoulder number
NZ Health Partnerships E98